SM Entertainment and their active K-Pop boy groups

SM Entertainment is known for being the pioneer of the genre K-Pop. With its founder Lee Soo Man, SM Entertainment created their first K-Pop boy group H.O.T in 1996.

Since then, the entertainment agency has honed and made popular several K-Pop groups until today. SM Entertainment is also known for creating global stars from its K-Pop groups.

Most of the boy groups that the agency created became known not only in Korea but also worldwide.

Here are the SM Entertainment K-Pop boy groups that are currently active:


(c) SM Entertainment

SM Entertainment formed the K-pop boy group TVXQ in 2003. It consisted of five members such as Changmin, Yunho, Junsu, Yoochun, and Jaejoong.

In 2009, Junsu, Yoochun, and Jaejoong decided to leave the group. From 2009 until today, Changmin and Yunho are still active as members of TVXQ. The group is known for hit songs “Mirotic,” “Rising Sun,” “HUG,” “Keep Your Head Down,” “Something,” and more.

TVXQ’s last release was in March 2022. They promoted their Japanese extended play Epitaph. The two members are currently busy with their activities. Many are already anticipating their next album.

Super Junior

(c) SM Entertainment

After the success of TVXQ, SM Entertainment then created a 13-member group named Super Junior. In 2005, SM Entertainment introduced Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook and Kyuhyun. Han Geng, Kibum, and Kangin, as the members of Super Junior.

In 2006, they added the last member which is Kyuhyun. Due to different reasons, Super Junior is currently active with 9 members such as Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, and Kyuhyun.

Super Junior is known for the songs “Sorry, Sorry,” “Mr. Simple,” “U,” “Black Suit,” and alike.


(c) SM Entertainment

After three years, SM Entertainment once again formed another boy group which is called SHINee. It consists of five members such as Onew, Jonghyun, Key, Minho, and Taemin.

SHINee is popular for their songs “Ring Ding Dong,” “Replay,” “View,” “Don’t Call Me,” and more. In 2023, SHINee released their eighth studio album “Hard” with members Onew, Key, Minho, and Taemin.

From 2018 to 2023, SHINee was not complete because of the mandatory military service. 2023 is the year that all SHINee members finished their service and there will be no hindrance to their solo and group promotions.


(c) SM Entertainment

In 2012, SM Entertainment created another big boy group. The K-pop boy group is labeled as EXO with 12 members.

Currently, EXO has eight members such as Xiumin, Suho, Baekhyun, Chen, Chanyeol, D.O., Kai, and Sehun. Three of the original members departed from the group while member Lay’s contract with SM Entertainment ended in 2022. He is currently active in China.

EXO is the first group from SM Entertainment to sell millions of copies of an album. They are known for their hit songs “Growl,” “Call Me Baby,” “Overdose,” “Monster,” and more.

This year, the eight members participated in their seventh studio album, Exist. Seven members promoted the album while member Kai participated in the songs and music video. Kai is currently serving in the military.

NCT (NCT 127, NCT Dream, WAYV, and NCT DoJaeJung)

(c) SM Entertainment

Four years later, SM Entertainment introduced a unique group called NCT with the concept of limitless members. It has a total of twenty members that are divided into various sub-units such as NCT 127, NCT Dream, WAYV, and NCT DoJaeJung.

NCT 127 first debuted in 2016 followed by NCT Dream. WAYV on the other hand made its debut in 2019. The last unit to debut from the group is NCT DoJaeJung which started promoting this year. Aside from members promoting in their designated sub-units,

All the members from NCT also promote together once a year. Just last month, NCT as a whole released their fourth full album titled “Golden Age.”


(c) SM Entertainment

Last but definitely not the least is the K-pop boy group RIIZE. After seven years, SM Entertainment finally created another boy group.

RIIZE made its debut in September 2023. The group consists of seven members Shotaro, Eunseok, Sungchan, Wonbin, Seunghan, Sohee, and Anton. Only a few days since their debut, the group is already labeled as a monster rookie.

Aside from various endorsements, the group already sold half a million copies of their debut album. Just like other SM Entertainment K-Pop boy groups, it seems like the future is bright for RIIZE.

Are you a fan of any SM Entertainment K-pop boy groups?

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Explore more